FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES ST. AVOLD CONFERENCE ROOM, CITY HALL NOVEMBER 13, 2023

5:30 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitch Colvin

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Shakeyla Ingram (District 2); Mario Benavente (District 3); D. J. Haire (District 4); Johnny Dawkins (District 5); Derrick Thompson (District 6); Brenda McNair (District 7); Courtney Banks-McLaughlin (District 8) (arrived at 5:36 p.m.); Deno Hondros

(District 9)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager

Lachelle Pulliam, Interim City Attorney

Jodi Phelps, Chief of Staff

Paul Allen, Assistant City Attorney

Joshua Hall, Police Attorney Jennifer Ayre, Deputy City Clerk

Malik Davis, Council Member-Elect, District 2 Lynne Greene, Council Member-Elect, District 5

Members of the Press

Mayor Colvin called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

CLOSED SESSION

MOTION: Council Member Ingram moved to go into closed session for

personnel matters.

Council Member Hondros SECOND:

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

The regular session recessed at 5:32 p.m. The regular session reconvened at 5:59 p.m.

MOTION: Council Member Ingram moved to go into open session.

SECOND: Council Member McNair

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

MOTION: Council Member Thompson moved to approve the City Manager for

a 4 percent salary increase.

SECOND: Council Member Haire

VOTE: PASSED by a vote of 8 in favor to 2 in opposition (Council

Members Dawkins and Hondros)

MOTION: Council Member Ingram moved to go into closed session for an

attorney-client privileged matter.

SECOND: Council Member Thompson

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

The regular session recessed at 6:02 p.m. The regular session reconvened at 6:57 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:57 p.m.